Baillie names Official Opposition critic responsibilities

June 19, 2017 at 7:59 am

MLAs assigned critic portfolios by PC Leader Jamie Baillie.

Progressive Conservative Leader Jamie Baillie announced today, the Official Opposition critic responsibilities.

The new Official Opposition is a diverse group of returning and new MLAs who are ready to hold the government accountable for addressing Nova Scotians’ top priorities, said Baillie.

“I am excited to be working with such a strong, capable group of MLAs. We have a great team and we are looking forward to working on issues and opportunities that are important to Nova Scotians,” said Baillie. “As the Official Opposition and with our expanded team, we will continue to hold Stephen McNeil and the Ministers accountable for fixing the crisis in our health and mental health systems, improving education for children and making a better climate for job creators.”

Jamie Baillie
MLA Cumberland South
Critic Responsibilities: Premier’s Office; Executive Council; and Intergovernmental Affairs

Pat Dunn
Deputy Leader
MLA Pictou Centre
Critic Responsibilities: Public Service Commission; and African Nova Scotian Affairs

Chris d’Entremont
House Leader
MLA Argyle-Barrington
Critic Responsibilities: Internal Services; Communications Nova Scotia; and Acadian Affairs
and Francophonie

Alfie MacLeod
Deputy House Leader
MLA Sydney River-Mira-Louisbourg
Critic Responsibilities: Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal; and Aboriginal Affairs

Karla MacFarlane
Caucus Chair
MLA Pictou West
Critic Responsibilities: Justice; Attorney General; and Military Relations

Eddie Orrell
MLA Northside-Westmount
Critic Responsibilities: Labour and Advanced Education

Allan MacMaster
Chair of Public Accounts Committee
MLA Inverness
Critic Responsibilities: Energy; Service Nova Scotia; and Gaelic Affairs

John Lohr
MLA Kings North
Critic Responsibilities: Agriculture; Fisheries and Aquaculture; Immigration; and Labour Relations

Tim Houston
MLA Pictou East
Public Accounts Committee member
Critic Responsibilities: Finance; Nova Scotia Liquor Corp.; and Regulatory Affairs and Service Effectiveness

Keith Bain
MLA Victoria-The Lakes
Critic Responsibilities: Natural Resources

Larry Harrison
MLA Colchester-Musquodoboit Valley
Critic Responsibilities: Communities, Culture and Heritage; and Seniors

Tim Halman
Deputy Caucus Chair
MLA Dartmouth East
Critic Responsibilities: Education and Early Childhood Development; and Youth

Kim Masland
Deputy Whip
MLA Queens-Shelburne
Critic Responsibilities: Environment

Elizabeth Smith-McCrossin
MLA Cumberland North
Critic Responsibilities: Health and Wellness

Alana Paon
MLA Cape Breton-Richmond
Critic Responsibilities: Business; Trade; Tourism Nova Scotia; Nova Scotia Business Inc.; and Innovacorp

Barbara Adams
MLA Cole Harbour-Eastern Passage
Critic Responsibilities: Community Services; and Advisory Council on the Status of Women

Brad Johns
MLA Sackville-Beaver Bank
Critic Responsibilities: Municipal Affairs; and Emergency Management Office