Baillie unveils plan to encourage women, African Nova Scotian and Indigenous candidates

May 02, 2017 at 8:31 am

PC Candidates call on McNeil to apologize for offensive remarks

Vision: An electoral system in which all Nova Scotians see themselves reflected in the House of Assembly

HALIFAX, NS – Flanked by Progressive Conservative female candidates, Jamie Baillie demanded an apology from Stephen McNeil for the thoughtless and dismissive comments he made yesterday.

Monday, the Liberal leader questioned how “meaningful” some women’s campaigns are in the upcoming election.

“You know, what this comes down to is simple – with his shocking remarks, the Premier told young women they can’t follow their dreams, even when the odds are stacked against them,” Baillie said. “This is absolutely not the message I give and reinforce with my own daughters or women who choose to run for the PC Party of Nova Scotia.”

Progressive Conservatives know how important the contributions of women have been to political life in Nova Scotia. The late Gladys Porter was the first woman elected to the Nova Scotia House of Assembly in 1960, as the PC MLA for Kings North.

The late Maxine Cochran, another Tory MLA, was the first woman to serve in the provincial cabinet.

Today, Baillie unveiled the Progressive Conservative plan to encourage political parties to recruit more women, African Nova Scotians and Indigenous Nova Scotians to run as candidates in Nova Scotia provincial elections.

In a Progressive Conservative government, the per vote funding parties receive based on their last election result will be 1.5 times higher for votes cast for women, African Nova Scotians and Indigenous candidates.

“Yesterday, Stephen McNeil devalued the contributions of women candidates with insulting and offensive remarks,” Baillie said. “Our plan will knock down outdated attitudes and encourage greater diversity in the House of Assembly.”

Section 191 of the Elections Act provide payments $1.53 for each vote received by a registered party. That amount is adjusted each year with inflation. In 2016, the per vote payment was $1.65.