In Touch

Upcoming Events

Wednesday March 15  @ 7-9:00pm John Wesley Chisholm & Halifax Chebucto Campaign Launch @ the Jubilee House, 6484 Jubilee Road ‘It doesn’t matter if you’re involved in politics or not and you don’t have to belong to any party or even live in the constituency, come along’.

 Saturday March 18th @ 2:00pm Victoria-The Lakes AGM @ Knox Presbyterian Church Hall. Baddeck – GUEST SPEAKER: Hon. Roland Thornhill

Tuesday, March 21st @  7:00 pm Pictou East AGM @ Thorburn Fire Hall – Guest speakers will John Garth MacDonald and his wife Michelle.  They will be speaking about PTSD and their presentation is amazing.  Memberships will be available and refreshments will be served.  Everyone Welcome.

Saturday, March 25th @ 11:00 am Sydney-Victoria Tory Talks Breakfast @ the Clansman Motel. We encourage everyone who can, to come together and attend – These meetings are informal with no set agenda.

Saturday, March 25th @ 7:00 pm  Cape Breton Richmond Nomination Celebration for Alana Paon @ the D’Esousse Civic Improvement Hall

Sunday, March 26 @ 2:00 pm  Colchester Musquodoboit Valley AGM pm @ Lower Truro Community Hall on Kent Road – Guest speaker: Pictou East MLA Tim Houston

Thursday, March 30Eastern Passage Paint Night @ the Eastern Passage Lions Club. Featuring Leo from the Violet Unicorn. Painting! Games! Door Prizes! Cash Bar and free refreshments. Call Pat Ansell at 902 449 4247 for TICKETS $40. Fund Raiser for PC Candidate Barbara Adams – Limited seating

Saturday, April 1 – Waverley-Fall River-Beaver Bank presents ‘A Roast and Birthday Celebration for Gary Hines’  @ Waverley Legion – Tickets $35


Constituency events held:


February 22Sackville Cobequid AGM was held with the following officers elected: Paul Russell, president; Floyd Fullerton, secretary and Guy Harrington, treasurer.


February 22Bedford AGM was held and there were no changes to the executive. Sandy Stevens was returned as president.


February 21 –  Kings West AGM was held. The new executive for the Association is:  President – Annette Smith;  1st Vice-President – Graig Brenton;   2nd Vice-President — James Schofield;  Past-President — Chris Palmer;   Treasurer – Tim Harding;  Secretary – Cheryl Ann Dempsey;   and Fundraising Chair – Eric Meisner.  Chris Palmer was nominated  as candidate.


 Candidate Notes

Nominations are now open and/or candidate applications are being received in the following constituencies:

Dartmouth South – Candidate applications are being received until March

Glace Bay – Candidate applications are being received until March

Hants East – Applications by candidates are being received until March 24

Annapolis – Applications by candidates are being received until March 23

Candidates have recently been acclaimed/elected in the following constituencies:

Cumberland North: Elizabeth Smith-McCrossin on May 2

Victoria – The Lakes: Keith Bain on May 25

Bedford: Valerie White on June 7

Kings North:  John Lohr on June 16

Pictou Centre: Pat Dunn on June 28

Pictou East: Tim Houston on June 28

Pictou West: Karla MacFarlane on June 28

Argyle-Barrington: Chris d’Entremont on June 28

Inverness: Allan MacMaster on June 28

Colchester-Musquodoboit Valley: Larry Harrison on June 28

Sydney River-Mira-Louisbourg: Alfie MacLeod on July 5

Northside-Westmount: Eddie Orrell on July 5

Halifax Chebucto: John Wesley Chisholm on July 5

Lunenburg: Brian Pickings on July 26

Hants West: Janice Munroe Dodge on August 4

Dartmouth North: Melanie Russell on August 8

Sackville Cobequid: John Giannakos on August 8

Cole Harbour-Eastern Passage: Barbara Adams on August 25

Cumberland South: Jamie Baillie on September 16

Guysborough-Eastern Shore-Tracadie: Rob Wolf on September 16

Queens Shelburne: Kim Masland on October 3

Clayton Park West: Paul Kimball on October 7

Antigonish: Ray Mattie on November 8

Fairview Clayton Park: Paul Beasant on January 25

Kings West:  Chris Palmer on January 30

Cape Breton Richmond: Alana Paon on February 1

Waverley-Fall River-Beaver Bank – Dan McNaughton on February 20

Hammonds Plains-Lucasville – Matt Whitman on February 24

Timberlea-Prospect – Tim Kohoot on February 24

Truro-Bible Hill-Millbrook-Salmon River – Keltie Jones on March 1

Sackville Beaver Bank – Brad Johns on March 9

Special Occasions

March 10 – Happy Birthday to MLA Alfie MacLeod (Sydney River-Mira-Louisbourg)

March 16 – Happy Birthday to constituency president Graig Brenton (Kings West)

Sympathy Notes

March 5th  – Ginette-Thibault-Halman (Dartmouth East) passed away at the age of 43. Condolences to husband Tim Halman, daughters Sophie & Ella Halman and her parents Hector and Jeanne Thibault (Clare-Digby).  Visitation is at Atlantic Funeral Home, 771 Main St., Dartmouth on Wednesday, March 8 from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Funeral service will be held in St. Thomas More Roman Catholic Church on Thursday, March 9 at 2 pm.


March 2ndLloyd Card (Kings South) passed away. Condolences to his spouse Heather Card and family


February 27th  – Anne (McMullin) LeLandais (Cape Breton) passed away. Condolences to daughter Sydney River-Mira-Louisbourg treasurer Michelle Flynn and family.

February 22ndEmanuel “Bucky” Sives passed away at the age of 93. Condolences to his wife of 71 years, Irene ‘Rene’, son Donnie and family.  Bucky was well-known in Sydney for racing stock cars in the early 1960’s, and served as a firefighter with the Sydney River Volunteer Fire Department for 30 years. A lifelong PC Party member, Bucky was involved at both the Federal and Provincial levels, hosting many political events over the years. He was a devoted hockey fan, rarely missing a Cape Breton Screaming Eagles game. He spent his life working hard, first at Malcolm S. MacDonald, and then with S&M Trucking, a company he was instrumental in starting in 1967.


2017 Annual Meeting & Convention Highlights – February 3-5 in Halifax

800 delegates and guests gathered at the Westin Nova Scotian including 200 for their first AGM
27 MLAs and nominated candidates are introduced to the Party
550 delegates attended the opening address from leader Jamie Baillie
A new Provincial Executive is elected including four new district vice presidents – Mark Sauveur, Gaynell Broughm, Marc Blinn and Brian Lamey
Mike Salterio is given the President’s Award & Daniel MacKenzie, the Paul Levy (Youth) Award
$2250 raised in Chase the Ace with the final winner Mike Salterio turning the Ace on the last card
$7000 raised in the Silent Auction with over 125 great items up for bid
35 volunteers of the year are honoured by their constituencies
Annapolis-Paul Wear; Antigonish-Janet MacPherson; Argyle – Barrington-JoEllen Dixon; Cape Breton – Richmond-Louise Campbell; Chester – St. Margaret’s-Piers Baker;Clare-Digby-Marc Blinn; Colchester – Musquodoboit Valley-Kathy Best; Cole Harbour – Eastern Passage-Linda Forward; Cole Harbour – Portland Valley Lois Glibbery; Cumberland North-Frank Elliott; Cumberland South-Roy & Roberta McMasters; Dartmouth North-Lewis & Jane MacKay; Dartmouth South-Lionel Conrod; Eastern Shore-Donald Mannette; Guysborough-Eastern Shore-Tracadie-Basil Smith ; Halifax Armdale-Sylvia Gillard; Hants East-Don Bowlby; Inverness-Gayle MacDonald; Kings North-John Cochrane; Lunenburg-Alice Pickings; Lunenburg West-Donna Malone; Northside – Westmount-Sid Hatcher; Pictou Centre-Darrell Rushton; Pictou East-Clary & Joan MacDonald; Pictou West-Gord Barnes; Sackville – Cobequid-Phyllis Hubley; Sydney River – Mira – Louisbourg-Michelle Flynn; Victoria – The Lakes-Dianne Timmins; Waverley – Fall River – Beaver Bank-Brian Wong & Marlene Leyte.


If you would like to add a friend’s name to our email list just send us their email address and we will be pleased to forward our weekly updates.

If you know of a special occasion or political event you would included in our weekly “In Touch” forward by e-mail to [email protected] or (902)-429-9470, Toll free 1-800-595-8679.